skip to Main Content
Notre Catalogue Hiver 2021 est sorti en version digitale.
Vous pouvez le découvrir dans la section "Publications" de notre site internet.
Cornelis Bega (1631 - 1664)
Étude d’un homme assis tenant une besace
Pierre noire et craie blanche sur papier bleu, traits d’encadrement à l’encre brune
278 x 169 mm
Provenance :
Probablement Henry Scipio Reitlinger (1882 – 1950) ;
Vente Sotheby’s, Amsterdam, 15 novembre 1995, lot 43 ;
Luben Yordanoff (1926-2011), Paris

Cornelis Bega s’est spécialisé dans la représentation de la vie populaire comme les scènes de tavernes et les intérieurs domestiques. En tant que dessinateur, Bega est surtout connu pour ses études de figures isolées, exécutées d’après le modèle vivant, à la pierre noire et à la craie blanche sur papier bleu. Dans le présent dessin, l’attitude du modèle qui se tient jambes croisées et portant une besace, est particulièrement naturelle. Le banc sur lequel l’homme est assis apparaît dans un autre dessin de Bega, Étude d’une jeune femme assise (voir vente Koller, Zürich, 29 mars 2019, lot 3455).
Jean-Louis Demarne (1752 - 1829)
Paysage aux arbres
Aquarelle sur graphite
204 x 264 mm
Signé au crayon en bas à gauche : Demarnes
verso : Étude d’une bâtisse
pierre noire
Filigrane : JHonig & Zoonen

Jean-Louis Demarne est l’un des peintres de paysages les plus recherchés à la fin du XVIIIème siècle. Agréé à l’Académie en 1783, l’artiste n’y est jamais reçu car il semble avoir été peu soucieux des honneurs officiels. Les paysages de Demarne, habités par des bergers et des troupeaux, témoignent de l’intérêt de l’artiste pour les paysages hollandais du XVIIème siècle, et en particulier ceux d’Albert Cuyp, d’Adriaen van de Velde et de Karel Dujardin.

Le bord de la présente feuille indique que le dessin appartenait à un carnet de croquis. Le verso figure une bâtisse dans un paysage esquissé à la pierre noire. La sensibilité de l’artiste face à la nature s’apprécie pleinement dans notre aquarelle : les éléments du paysage s’estompent dans l’arrière-plan, les branches des arbres deviennent évanescentes. Le musée des Beaux-Arts de Besançon conserve deux paysages aquarellés de l’artiste (inv. D. 972, et D. 973).
Ippolito Caffi (1809 - 1866)
Deux jeunes femmes dans un intérieur gothique, l’une vue de dos, l’autre jouant de la guitare
Lavis brun, gouache blanche, graphite
166 x 207 mm
Signé en bas à gauche : Caffi Diso...

Ippolito Caffi est un peintre italien connu pour ses paysages d’Italie, et en particuliers de Venise, Rome et Naples, qu’il destinait aux amateurs du grand tour. Notre dessin est l’une des rares scènes d’intérieures connues de l’artiste qui s’adonne ici au genre troubadour. Deux autres dessins de Caffi, Un couple amoureux et Intérieur d’une église avec figures, récemment passés sur le marché de l’art, prennent place dans cette même pièce. Dans ces trois dessins, l’artiste explore les possibilités picturales du clair-obscur avec l’ouverture des fenêtres qui illuminent un intérieur sombre.
NATHALIE MOTTE MASSELINK

skip to Main Content
Our Winter 2021 Catalogue is out in a digital version
You can discover it in the "Publications" section of our website
Cornelis Bega (1631 - 1644)
Study of a Seated Man Holding a Bag
Black chalk and white chalk on blue paper, framing lines in brown ink
278 x 169 mm, 10 15/16 x 6 5/8 in.

Provenance:
Probably Henry Scipio Reitlinger (1882 - 1950);
Sotheby's sale, Amsterdam, 15 November 1995, lot 43;
Luben Yordanoff (1926-2011), Paris

Cornelis Bega specialized in the representation of popular subjects, like taverns scenes and domestic interiors. As a draftsman, Bega is best known for his studies of isolated figures, executed from life, in black and white chalk on blue paper. The attitude of the model in the present drawing, posing cross-legged and opening a satchel, is particularly natural and lively. The bench the man is sitting on appears in another drawing by Bega, the Study of a Seated Young Woman (see Koller sale, Zürich, 29 March 2019, lot 3455).
Jean-Louis Demarne (1752 1829)
Landscape with Trees
Watercolor, graphite
204 x 264 mm, 8 x 10 3/8 in.
Signed in pencil lower left: Demarnes
verso: Study of a House
black chalk
Watermark: JHonig & Zoonen

Jean-Louis Demarne was one of the most sought-after landscape painters at the end of the eighteenth century. Agréé at the Academy in 1783, the artist was never received, as he seems to have paid little heed to official honors. The landscapes of Demarne, inhabited by shepherds and flocks, show the artist's interest in the Dutch landscapes of the 17th century, in particular those of Albert Cuyp, Adriaen van de Velde, and Karel Dujardin.

The edge of the present sheet indicates that the drawing once belonged to a sketchbook. On the verso, there is a loose sketch in black chalk of an old house in a landscape. The artist's sensitivity to nature is fully appreciated in our watercolor: the elements of the landscape blend, the branches of the trees become evanescent. The Museum of Fine Arts in Besançon owns two watercolor landscapes by the artist (inv. D. 972; D. 973).
Ippolito Caffi (1809 - 1866)
Two Young Women in a Gothic Interior, One Viewed from the Back, the Other Playing the Guitar
Brown wash, white gouache, graphite
166 x 207 mm, 6 9/16 x 8 1/8 in.
Signed lower left: Caffi Diso ...

Ippolito Caffi was an Italian painter known for his landscapes of Italy, and in particular of Venice, Rome, and Naples, which he intended for sale to travellers on the Grand Tour. The present drawing is a rare example of an interior scene by the artist. Here, Caffi devoted himself entirely to a scene in the troubadour genre. Two other drawings by Caffi, a Couple in Love and Interior of a Church with Figures, recently on the art market, take place in the same setting. In these three drawings, the artist explores the pictorial possibilities of dramatic lighting created by open windows and doors illuminating dark interiors.
NATHALIE MOTTE MASSELINK